Multi-Year Intrastate Fleet Registration Program
TxDMV has an online Multi-Year Intrastate Fleet Registration Program for registering fleets of intrastate commercial motor vehicles, trailers and token trailers in Texas. This program makes it convenient for business owners and corporations to keep their vehicle registrations current.
A commercial fleet is a group of at least 25 non-apportioned motor vehicles, trailers or token trailers. There is no maximum number of motor vehicles or trailers you can have within a fleet.
Your fleet can include multiple vehicle classes such as passenger cars, trucks, motorcycles and trailers. There is not a maximum number of fleets a company can utilize on one account. All units within a fleet will have the same expiration date.
You can select a registration period of not less than one year and not more than eight years.
License plates are manufactured with the month and year of expiration, eliminating the annual registration sticker requirement. You have the option of selecting a standard license plate or a custom logo license plate, which will be manufactured with your company name and/or logo. Custom logo license plates must be pre-approved by the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles prior to beginning the multi-year fleet registration process.
Note: If any fleet contains a combination-plated vehicle, the fleet must have a March expiration date.
How to Apply
As a result of House Bill 2305 passed during the 83rd legislative session, the State of Texas stopped issuing inspection stickers and transitioned to a "Two Steps, One Sticker" vehicle inspection and registration program. Since March 1, 2015, your vehicle is no longer issued an inspection sticker and your cab card or registration receipt will serve as proof of inspection and registration. If you have any questions or need assistance, please call our office at 1-888-368-4689; or visit us online at www.TwoStepsOneSticker.com/motor-carriers.
Fees and Payment Information
Registration fees, including an annual $10 per vehicle commercial fleet fee and applicable local county fees, will be collected for the entire registration period selected at the time of initial registration.
License plate fees:
- Standard license plates: one-time license plate manufacturing fee of $1.50 for each plate or set of plates.
- Custom logo license plates: one-time license plate manufacturing fee of $8.00 for each plate or set of plates.
Registration fees are payable online via electronic check (ACH).
A prorated credit for Texas registration and fleet fees will be applied to your account for any deleted or exchanged unit. Credits are stored at the account level and applied to future transactions. All applicable local county fees will still apply.
If the gross vehicle weight of your vehicle is 55,000 pounds or more, Federal law requires that proof of payment of the Federal Heavy Vehicle Use Tax (HVUT) be provided at time of vehicle licensing application.